Structure of the museum

Museum Director – Edward Kopówka – PhD, certified curator

Born in 1963, has lived in Siedlce since 1970. In 2009, he received the title of doctor of humanities at the Podlasie Academy in Siedlce (currently the University of Life Sciences and Humanities). He defended his dissertation on Jews in Siedlce in the 19th and 20th centuries. He deepened his knowledge on courses in Yad Vashem in Jerusalem and Goethe Institut in Berlin. Since 1996, he has been the director of the Treblinka Museum of Struggle and Martyrdom, and since July 2018, he has been appointed the director of the Treblinka Museum. The Nazi German Extermination and Forced Labour Camp (1941-1944)

On 11 May 2017, President Andrzej Duda awarded him with the Cross of Freedom and Solidarity. In 2011, he received the Knight’s Cross of the Order of Polonia Restituta awarded by President of the Republic of Poland Bronisław Komorowski. In 2012, he received the Medal of the Warsaw Ghetto Uprising awarded by the Association of Jewish Combatants and Victims of World War II in recognition of cultivating the historical truth about Polish-Jewish relations, especially during the Holocaust. In the same year, he also received a Distinction in the Zygmunt Gloger Medal Competition “for his research into the history of martyrdom and extermination of the Jewish community in Treblinka”.

He is the author and co-author of many books, the most important of which, according to him, are: Bojownikom o Niepodległość Cześć!, (Siedlce, 2001, together with his wife Katarzyna), Treblinka. Nigdy więcej, (Treblinka, 2002), Stalag 366, (Siedlce, 2004), Żydzi w Siedlcach 1850-1945, (Siedlce, 2009), Dam im imię na wieki. Polacy z okolic Treblinki ratujący Żydów, (Oxford-Treblinka, 2011, together with priest Paweł Rytel-Andrianik), Jews in Siedlce 1850 – 1945, New York [2014], Obóz Pracy Treblinka I. Metodyka integracji danych wieloźródłowych, (Warszawa-Treblinka, 2017, together with Sebastian Różycki and Marek Michalski).

phone: +48-606-985-414

Deputy Director for Administrative and Economic Affairs: Iwona Wasilewska

Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-3.00 p.m.

Office: Anna Dębska
Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m.
+48 25 781 16 58

Chief Accountant: Agnieszka Kur
Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m.


HR Department: Dorota Dębek
Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-4.00p.m.

Finance and Accounting Department:

General accountant: Agnieszka Kur
Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-4.00p.m.

Wioletta Kwieciszewska
Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-4.00p.m.

Martyna Kozera
Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-4.00p.m.

Educational Department:

Anna Remiszewska
Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m.

Krzysztof Flażyński
Work hours: 8.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m.

Scientific Department:

Monika Samuel
Work hours: 9.00 a.m.-7.00 p.m.

Aleksandra Kowalska
Work hours: 9.00 a.m.-7.00 p.m.

Ilona Flażyńska
Work hours: 9.00 a.m.-4.00 p.m.

Archive and Library: Marzena Szcześniak
Work hours: 8.30 a.m.-12.30 p.m.

Head of the Museum Security Service: Krzysztof Kapusta
tel. 606 547 891


Guide service and information in English:

Inspector of Personal Data Protection: Elżbieta Żochowska
tel. 516 540 147

Legal Counsel: Elżbieta Żochowska

Museum Council of the Treblinka Museum.
The Nazi German Extermination and Forced Labour Camp (1941-1944)

The Museum Council is an consultative body, which supervises the fulfillment of the museum’s duties to collections and the public, evaluates the annual reports on the activities of the Museum submitted by the Director and gives opinions about annual activity plans presented by the Director of Museum.

The Museum Council at the Treblinka Museum, appointed by the Board of the Masovian Voivodeship (Resolution No. 1159/419/23 of June 27, 2023), includes the following persons:

  1. Elżbieta Lanc – Chairwoman of the Museum Council
  2. dr hab. Zofia Chyra-Rolicz – Deputy Chairwoman of the Museum Council
  3. Hanna Przesmycka
  4. Jarosław Sellin
  5. Barbara Janina Sochal
  6. Stanisław Stankiewicz
  7. Albert Stankowski
  8. Artur Ziontek